22nd General Assembly Elects

Rev. N N Eke as New Moderator

 The Sovereign Lord says: The lowly will be

exalted ... It will not be restored until he comes to whom it rightfully belongs, to him I will give it (Ezekiel 26 & 27 NIV).

 For surely there is an end; and thine expectation shall not be cut  off

(Prov. 23: 18 KJV).

For the vision is yet for an appointed time, but at the end, it shall speak, and not lie; though it tarry, wait for it; because it will surely come, it will not tarry (Hab 2: 3 KJV).

 The 22nd General Assembly of The Presbyterian Church of Nigeria has unanimously elected The Rev. Nzie Nsi Eke as the new Moderator of the General Assembly, to succeed Most Rev. Prof. Emele  Mba Uka whose tenure as the Prelate & Moderator of the General Assembly expired at the General Assembly meeting. The election was held on Monday, 15th August, 2016, and Rev. N. N. Eke was consequently sworn in accordingly.

            Rev. Eke was presented to the General Assembly by the Clerk of Mid East Synod, Rev. Ogbonnaya Ejie as the sole candidate of Mid East. Synod whose right it was to nominate a candidate.  The nomination/presentation was seconded by Rev. Michael Eze, the Moderator of Mid East Synod. The election, moderated by Prelate Emeritus, Most Rev. Dr. U. B. Usung, saw Rev. Eke scoring 485 votes in his favour, 2 against and 3 abstentions.

            The thunderous ovation that greeted both his presentation as a candidate and his election is better witnessed than described.  It was overwhelming. But the truth of the matter is that the applause was a reflection of the spiritual significance of his election. The book of Ezekiel says that God will give the crown to whom it rightfully belongs (Ez 26 & 27).  The vision tarried, but it did surely come. To God be the glory.



 Declaring his dream for the Church after the election exercise, the new Moderator said “my dream is to lead a Christ-centred, Bible-based and Prayerful Church, not a political party. I am called to lead a Church that acknowledges the sovereignty of God. The administration would partner with the ruling Elders in the spirit of team ministry. The role of ruling elders in the administration of the Church must be maintained. The minister cannot do it alone. In line with our polity, ruling Elders would be given their nrightful position in running the Church. 

“The Church is coming out from an internal crisis, a horrible tribulation, too emotional to discuss.  The crisis has lasted for six years (2010 - 2016).  The crisis has come and gone, leaving behind lessons for us to learn.  Let us jointly pursue healing and put judgmental spirit aside. My primary challenge is to initiate a healing process that would extend beyond the PCN and the Reformed Presbyterian Church of Nigeria (the full text of the message will be published in a subsequent bulletin).




A new Deputy Clerk of the General Assembly of The Presbyterian Church of Nigeria has been elected in succession to The Rev. Daniel Eyo Etim whose six-year tenure expired in August, 2016. 

He is The Rev. Solomon Okoro who was elected on Monday, 15th August, 2016 by the 22nd General Assembly which was held on 12th - 19th August, 2016 at the Lagos Presbyterian Church, Yaba, Lagos.

Until his election, Rev. Okoro was the Minister the Minister in-charge of St. Peter’s Parish, Ugep. He scored 277 votes to win the election, as against Rev. Amos Dike’s 189 and Rev. Precious Ogo's 50 votes.



September       1-3       Children’s Bible Quiz Grand finale

September      2-3       Women’s Guild CWC Meeting

September         4        Reserved for Presbyteries/Synods

September      11         Reserved for Presbyteries/Synods

September       15        BFO Publications Department Editorial Committee Meeting

September       16        BFO Doctrines and Standards Department Meeting

September      18         Reserved for Presbyteries/Synods

September   21–25      Week of Praise

September   21–25      Praise Sunday           

September   23-24       PSF Mandate Meeting